Caracas, Wednesday, January 5,2011
Latin American Herald Tribune
Chilean Woman Carrying Brainless Fetus Seeks Permission to Abort

SANTIAGO – A Chilean woman 36 weeks pregnant has appealed to a court for authorization to undergo a therapeutic abortion after learning that her baby has no brain.

Claudia Pizarro, who also suffers from cancer of the uterus, presented an appeal for protection of her constitutional rights in the courts on grounds that her fetus, which in any case will not be able to live outside the womb, keeps her from having her illness treated.

“I’m not asking that they kill my child. My daughter will die at birth. I’m pleading for my life, so I can seek treatment as soon as possible,” the woman, who has an 11-year-old son, told Efe.

If the court accepts the appeal to protect her constitutional rights, Claudia intends to donate the baby’s organs “to help other children who do have a chance to live,” she told reporters.

Chile is one of the few countries in the world that ban therapeutic abortion, but two bills now before Congress seek to decriminalize the procedure.